Our Christmas Present

20140429-223714.jpg
I’ve been wanting to tell the story about how we found out we’re pregnant ever since it happened! I swear, when I started this blog I thought it would be fun fashion & good writing to go along with it. But I never seem to have more than 10 minutes to sit & write anything decent. I’m lucky if it’s all spelled correct! The story just makes me smile when I think about it & I thought I would share it..
(I didn’t really want to ‘get into it’ all but I kinda have to so you know just how excited & surprised we were!)
So…about three years ago when Gavin turned 3 we decided to try for another child. I didn’t want to miss any baby milestones with him & definitely wasn’t up to the task of having kids close in age (I’ve heard the stories)! Being 25 I NEVER thought it would be a task to do so. We were lucky at first & pregnant that very next month! But sometimes things don’t work out how you planned & I’ll just say we had a few pregnancy misfortunes in the past few years (this was meant to be a happy story not sad!!) After trying for so long it was beginning to consume & frustrate me. Tracking ovulation with dates & thermometers, buying insane amounts of pregnancy tests at every trip to the store. Finally I decided to switch from pregnancy to ovulation test, as I had heard from a few girlfriends that girls they knew who were also trying used them & discovered their cycles were crazy off & this is why they had difficulties as well. This was my last trip to the store before Xmas so it was crowded & everything was kinda messy and picked through. And wuddya know, all the ovulation tests are gone. Frustrated by that, thinking here goes another month, more $ wasted on tests, I just grabbed the next box I saw. I went home & threw it in the medicine cabinet..Fast forward a few days later to Christmas morning…I got up before everyone else & went into the bathroom. Mike had left the medicine cabinet door open the night before & I saw the test when I walked in. I thought for a second..no I’m not late yet..and I knew a test being positive on THAT day of any other was a long shot, but how cool would it be!? So I grabbed it, took it, then put the lid on & shoved it into my pocket & quickly went downstairs. Santa had brought Rylee a new flat screen for Xmas & I wanted to be sure it was on and playing her new favorite Hunger Games movie (it’s all about the presentation lol) before everyone came downstairs. I made sure everything was perfect then checked the test in my pocket before heading up. Not only did it say the word YES+ but I realized in the mess at the store I had bought a pack of those pricey test that actually spell it out for you! Which was perfect because who wants to surprise their spouse with such news with an ify test!? I seriously couldn’t believe it. I put the test in Mike’s stocking & headed upstairs in shock. Went straight back to the bathroom to check the box of tests I had purchased. It was a mix of ph & digital test- instructing to take the ph first & if any sign of pregnancy with that, to then take the digital. I took one of the ph tests just to be sure & that TOO was positive! So I was really kinda in shock that not only was I for sure pregnant but that we were getting the best Christmas present we could ever ask for! I tried my best to focus on the kids opening all their gifts after that. Of course, stockings for mom & dad usually come last, my husband always opening his after everyone else has. I swear he thought that think was a toothbrush when he pulled it out. He looked at it confused but only for a second..cuz remember, it does spell it out for you. He was shocked too.
“Are you serious? Is this for real??” And then I handed him the second test. Lol.
MERRY CHRISTMAS TO US!!!
But even after that, it’s been hard getting excited over another pregnancy after a few failed ones, one being in the second trimester. At first it was ‘let’s just get through the first appointment’ (9wks) then ‘please Lord, let there still be a heartbeat’ (at14wks), and even after that I still wasn’t fully able to let myself emotionally accept it. But a few weeks before my 20wk apt I started feeling the baby move & that’s when I knew everything would be ok. And here we are, slowly creeping into the 6th month and the baby kicking me as I write this.
This time we decided to do things differently & not find out the gender! It’s made things even more exciting!! I’ve slowly been shopping here & there, only getting what I can’t live without, and so far here are a few of my favorite gender neutral items!

20140429-223930.jpg
I knew I didn’t want to do any of the typical green & yellow for the nursery or layette, so naturally I gravitated towards neutral colors that also happen to be my own favorites: black & white, minty teal, mustard & grey. With a love for all thing tribal/aztec/geometric I decided to mix a lot of that in there as well.

20140429-224306.jpg
I wanted to begin shopping for the nursery after I figured out what I was doing with the crib & bedding. Nothing looked good to me until I stumbled upon Wren & Rumor’s shop. I instantly fell in love with the tribal print & had to have it! The blanket is soft, thick & the perfect size for the crib. Not only that but every piece in her shop is GOREGOUS & almost all gender neutral! I keep finding myself browsing her shop for anything else I might need..my latest purchase being the offsetting tribal print swaddle blanket & bird blanket. I don’t doubt that’ll be my last purchase from there!

20140429-224801.jpg
After the tribal blanket I found these Pendleton moccs from Bedtime Rebel! I’ve never seen moccs like this & with a tribal/Native American theme going on they were the absolute perfect addition. Along with these Ezra & Eli leggings! I’ve had a thing for black & white stripes for years. I’ve already accumulated quite a few baby items with the print..chevron is just kinda played out now but THESE leggings are the best!!! They’re different, they fit my theme & they’ll be so cute on either boy or girl! And last but definitely not least is the For Like Ever onesie from Indie Nook. It’s a print I’ve always loved, I actually have it framed & hanging above my nightstand. So when I saw it, I knew it had to be mine! Annnd then I saw the adult version too. This poor baby & I are already twinning and I love it!
Blanket: Wren and Rumor
Moccs: Bedtime Rebel
Leggings: Ezra and Eli
Onesie: Indie Nook

20140429-225831.jpg

Leave a Reply

